Writing Letters for Fun

We’ve all got ’em. You might not call your List of Things to Do Before You Die a “Bucket List,” but since it’s shorter to type and not as morbid, I call it that. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, a Bucket List is a to-do list of sorts – places to visit, things to do, people to meet/see, etc, all activities you want to complete before you kick the bucket or check out from this world.

As a writer, of course completing a novel is on my Bucket List, but I hope I complete it much earlier than before I die…here’s hoping I won’t be dying any time soon. [knock on wood] I have a novel in progress and it’s my Bucket List item #1 for 2013 – that is, I hope to finish it by the end of the year so I can start getting it published in 2014.

Another item on my list was to write to a celebrity for advice. Random, I know. I don’t think I’ve ever written to a celeb before, although when I was a kid I did write to then President George HW Bush and got a reply letter back that I cherished. I had a friend in high school who wrote to everyone from Suzanne Somers to Madonna…and got responses back (including photos).

In my research, I found Chris Lucas, a fellow writer and sometimes actor, who has dedicated his life to the written word – literally. I bought his e-book on how to craft letters to celebrities to get responses and got to work.

I love writing letters and have two pen pals through the Letter Writing Alliance. (More info on that later this week) So taking a couple minutes each day to write another letter isn’t too hard for me.

Who did I write to? Well Curt Schilling, my all-time fave baseball player; Fannie Flagg, a favorite writer; Jane Espenson, a fave screenwriter/producer; and, OK, one of my celebrity crushes. I’m embarrassed to reveal that name but he knows whom he is. 🙂

The point is, I always try to find a way to write everyday – even if I’m in the grips of a horrible migraine, as I was for most of today. Too many days go by that I’m not successful at writing daily, but I’m working hard at it.

Do you write everyday? Do you enjoy writing letters? Have you written to any celebs – and have they written back?

