Case #09-2013: GoodReads Bullying Investigation

 

goodreads-logo

I’ve noticed several of my Facebook author friends writing about GoodReads bullying. At first I imagined several people with a lack of a backbone not being able to take criticism. As a former journalist, I know criticism is more rampant than praise, but I developed a tough skin and have faith others can too.

Then I started digging into the allegations. Apparently GoodReads allows reviewers to comment on books they haven’t purchased or fully read. You can read the sample of a couple pages and comment. Rarely does a page or two offer the best explanation of a book. It’s not a précis, for goodness sake, it’s a book, people!

As a result several writers have been annoyed when reviewers leave less than professional feedback on books they never even read. I get the frustration now.

This lead to the formation of cliques, and sides like battle. And people have taken to Twitter.

I don’t have all the details yet, but as an investigative reporter by training, I have to know what’s going on. And if this site isn’t worthy of a writer (or a reviewer’s time), I’ll find out.

Anyone who has had a good or bad experience on GoodReads, please fill out the form below or email me. I won’t quote you or use your name, I just want to get a better understanding of what’s going on with this site that should have been a great way to bring books to the masses.

3 thoughts on “Case #09-2013: GoodReads Bullying Investigation

  1. Pingback: One Story Slinger | Update – Back in the Saddle

  2. Reblogged this on The Literary Syndicate and commented:
    Interesting, this goes right along with my question. Check it out my friends.

  3. Pingback: GoodReads Questions… | The Literary Syndicate

Comments are closed.